The Call

Tonight I will be packing for Deaf Camp, but this mundane activity will always hold a little magic for me.  That’s because last year my packing was interrupted by my agent, Steven Malk of Writers House, calling to tell me that I had been offered a two-book deal with HarperCollins, that after ten years of working and hoping, after more drafts than I could count, it was finally happening.  It wasn’t an enormous surprise – I had spoken to Alexandra Cooper, my new editor, earlier in the week before she took the book to the Acquisitions Committee, so I knew that she was interested and was excited about the story.  But it seemed too much to hope that it might, finally, all work out.  And it did.

Looking back, I realize that there probably wasn’t a better time for the universe to spring such news on me, especially because I couldn’t post anything about it online at the time or scream it to the ends of the earth as I would have liked.  Instead, I had a great distraction, as I spent the week following the announcement with a bunch of middle-schoolers in the woods, none of whom, I assure you, were the least bit impressed with my authorly success.   Not even the camper whose unusual name I had borrowed for one of my characters when I wrote the first draft, back when she was in preschool.  Yeah, that’s how long I’ve been working on this book.

This entry was posted in On Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Call

  1. Jeff Garvin says:

    Happy Sale-a-versary!

Leave a Reply

